Alumni Coliseum

http://people.eku.edu/couturej/discovereku/buildings/0001-005-12199.jpg

Title

Alumni Coliseum

Subject

EKU Building

Description

The Alumni Coliseum, built in 1963, featured what was then the largest roof of its kind, having a span of 308 feet and constructed from 626,276 board feet of lumber. The main arena, McBrayer Arena, is named for Paul S. McBrayer, an Anderson County native and member of the Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame. As head coach of the EKU basketball team from 1946 to 1962 he compiled a record of 219 wins and 144 losses. The arena, home of the EKU varsity men's and women's basketball teams and the women's volleyball team, seats 6,500 for basketball games and approximately 8,000 for other programs. In addition to the main auditorium, the building contains four basketball courts, eight classrooms, twenty offices, an indoor and outdoor Olympic-size swimming pools, and many other multi-purpose facilities. The main office and some faculty offices for the Department of Mass Communications are located in the basement of the Alumni Coliseum

Date

Created: 1963

Relation

HasPart: McBrayer Arena

Format

115,113 (Assignable Sq. Ft)

Type

Physical Object

Coverage

"Eastern Kentucky University,
Richmond, KY,
Madison County, KY,
USA
37.737293,-84.301443"

Architect

Hartstern, Louis, and Henry, Louisville, KY

Groundbreaking Date

June 1, 1961

Dedication Date

1963-09-23

Original Cost

$3,244,623.00

Most Recent Renovation Date

1983

Named After

EKU Alumni

Geolocation

Citation

“Alumni Coliseum,” Discover EKU, accessed December 16, 2017, http://discovereku.omeka.net/items/show/787.